The struggle will bring us together, and love will tear us apart

Cactus Yordy
2 min readMay 10, 2021

I am elated with the sweat on your long, broad brow. We are in a double helix of careful attention, one rung, and then the next, building a length of a chemical vessel, and being quite good, years down the way, myriads of college students will bring to mind how exactly we did the damn thing. We could not answer for the A to the T, or my G to your C, but a long time spent has cemented and polished over an unspeakable foundation. Something indiscernible, the way a jogger in rhythm does not continue to see the path, but they feel their breath, the heaving heart, the arms swing and the feet play. But another night, I burned the calories equivalent to a Ben & Jerry’s pint, enough to overflow, thinking and plotting of the argument set before us I was as sure to win as Hannibal may scale the Alps, all elephants in tow. A mind ablaze, seething in white-hot misunderstanding, I am clamoring, no, it was you, for a whistle and a referee, I have been offsides all game, now together in the 90th you have called for the ball, for my throat and my neck, the yellow card and the stark penalty. I were to win, I had tried deeply hard, but you have taken advantage and have taken my heart. Surely I, so noble and ancient, can drink to your health, and a fierce bout of patience. There will be time to love again, to be torn asunder, and patched together again. This evening time, this moon-lit drama, come pick at cheap sushi with me and tell me you forgive me.

--

--