To find the central mountain of the (your) world

Where and how do you find inner peace?

Cactus Yordy
3 min readNov 29, 2020
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

Joseph Campbell, as quoted in The Hero’s Journey: “..this is the basic mythological problem: Move into a landscape. Find the sanctity of that land. And then there can be the matching of your own nature with this gorgeous nature of the land.”

I view my nature through the lens of a mild coffee/caffeine addiction. My self-expression is often guaranteed through a cup at a cafe, where I can calmly write and read. Here, I feel my zenith, the subsequent tiers of my being. This is a widespread, contemporary example of Stockholm Syndrome; I love the chains I have set upon myself. There are a handful of interesting consequences:

  1. An expense for a cappuccino is not seen as a luxury, but time later rationalized as a necessity. This is money that must be spent. I need it for my brain. Daily, I accept my invitation to the dance.
  2. I seek out grandeur and aesthetic in the coffee shops in my neighborhood and city. I have gained a sense of participation in the community, oneness in my community, because the decorations behind an espresso machine sit right with my image of myself. Here, is where I belong. In a coffee shop, I am at peace with myself because I have ventured to fulfill my needs. I am surrounded by the piece of my day that is…

--

--